Before we can expect outstanding outcomes we need to ensure every student feels safe, secure and ready to learn.


We organise the curriculum in 3 stages:

  • The more traditional academic curriculum
  • An enhanced curriculum which offers opportunities for sport, music, the arts and much more

Personal Development based on the Beaconhouse Learner Profile. These skills go beyond examinations and are required in all aspects of adult life.


We follow the British model of education and we have organised this into 5 phases or stage of learning. This will progress to 6 stages/phases when we introduce A Levels. This provides a seamless programme from Early Years to leaving school at 16 or 18 years. There are subjects classified as ‘core’ and ‘other foundation’ subjects. The Cambridge International Education is our core programme and progress and attainment are measures against those objectives and standards.


Age 3 – 5  |  Early Years Foundation Stage


Age 5 – 11   |  Year 1 to 6


Age 11 – 14   |  Year 7 to 9


Age 14 – 15   |  Year 10 to 11

The ‘British’ curriculum is extensively used by international schools around the world and is the most popular approach followed by the US Curriculum and the International Baccalaureate. It is a detailed, planned and integrated programme covering a student’s whole school experience, from the age of 3 to the age of 18. It is a skill, understanding and knowledge-based curriculum, with many by many resources to support learning in school and at home. The British curriculum has clear rigorous expectations, but these can be designed to meet the needs of students from anywhere in the world. For example, at BNIS, there will be a clear focus on Malaysia from a time and place perspective, as opposed to the United Kingdom geography and history.

This curriculum fits into the British examination system that is accepted by universities and colleges globally. We decided to adopt the Cambridge International Education programmes at all levels from primary and into Secondary. This ensures there is a seamless progression to the important IGCSE exams in year 11. Cambridge is also the most popular exam board and welcomed by universities in Malaysia and further afield.

Our younger children in Nursery and Reception, follow the Early Years Foundation stage from England. This is also a very successful and popular approach to Early years’ education.

The subjects studied are classified as Core and Foundation. The Core subjects are mathematics, science and English. These subjects have to be studied throughout the school all the way to IGCSE in Year 11. The other subjects become optional for IGCSE at Year 10. All students in Primary and Lower Secondary study global perspectives, history, geography, art, music, music, Mandarin, and physical education. Bahasa Malay is compulsory for all Malaysian passport holders as is Islamic Studies for all Muslim students. You will find more detail in separate Curriculum Handbooks.

For more information, please visit: https://www.cambridgeinternational.org/programmes-and-qualifications/